Toes in the water

5 O'clock Somewhere Tavern SignWelcome to Oscar’s Tavern! It’s Terri here. Oscar asked me to hold down the fort for him today. He’s off to the beach this week and I must say that I am jealous! We were wearing sweatshirts around here yesterday! What I wouldn’t give to be hanging out on a beach and soaking up some sun!

Since I’m in charge today, the drink special is my new favorite drink, UV Blue Vodka lemonades. Yum-yum! Remember those frozen Bomb Pops you used to eat as a kid? That’s what these taste like. They go down a little too easy, though. Trust me on this. I was enjoying a few last night and am paying for it today! Someone pass the Tylenol, please?

bombsicle

On the menu today, we have turkey-bacon melts with onion rings.

I got a message or two from Oscar and it sounds as if his vacation weather is beautiful. Last I heard, he had his toes in the water, ass in the sand, not a worry in the world, a cold beer in his hand. His life is definitely good today! Reminds me of a song I love:

Oscar said he was watching dolphins swim! I’ll bet that was an amazing sight to see. I’m glad he’s enjoying a chance to kick back and relax. I know Oscar travels a lot and sees some great places, but his travels are usually business related. This is his chance to really take it easy and have some fun. He deserves a break. He’s always taking care of others and helping solve everyone’s problems. The man’s got a heart of gold.

Things are going pretty well around the Tavern in Oscar’s absence. We had karaoke last night and there was a pretty big crowd! As usual, there were a few who sang really well, and plenty who couldn’t carry a tune, but grew more confident (and loud) with every drink they consumed. Karaoke always makes for good people-watching.

A man walks out of a bar totally hammered, only to be greeted by a snobby woman.

She takes one look at him.

“You, sir, are drunk!”

“And you ma’am, are ugly. But when I wake up, I will be sober!”

Well, I better get back to work here. Wouldn’t want any shenanigans happening on my watch! Have a great day!

~ by Oscar on August 31, 2009.

4 Responses to “Toes in the water”

  1. Mmmm, I never had a blue vodka lemonade before, yummmyyyy- I’ll be in later to get one !

  2. Terri! Hi! Oscar is truly relaxing for once. Although he is hurtin a bit from too much volleyball!

    Thanks for keepin the place goin for us!

    C

  3. Hi Terri! While the blue vodka lemonade looks very appetizing, I stay away from the combination of vodka and lemonade. I think I’ll have a Miller Lite with my turkey melt and onion rings. Glad to see you holding down the fort for Oscar. I’m sure everyone’s glad to see you. Tell Oscar when you talk to him that I hope he’s having a great time in the sun!

  4. Wow! A dose of Terri, turkey-bacon melts with onion rings, and vodka! I am in heaven!

Leave a Reply

 
