Wednesday F-ing Schmednesday

Welcome to Oscar’s Tavern!

Whoo, I’m a bit tired today. Was out last night at a Kareoke bar with friends. Got in at 1:30am.  Yesterday was a busy day.  Just busy here at the Tavern, Charlene is back and looking great!  Willy is taking some time off this week. Him and the missus are in Florida.  Still hot here in the NorthEast.  He’s missing the Summer weather!  Perhaps its because he’s there?  Willy stay longer!!!

The Girl was here yesterday. She’s always fun to talk to.  She makes me laugh.  She was talking and occasionally corrected herself from using the “F” word.  I said it was ok, I don’t want you to trip over your words. She said she knows I don’t use that so she was being cordial.  Well I though that was sweet of her.  I told her about my friend Betty.  Many times when Betty would tell me a story, she’d let them fly. I’d just flinch and listen.  At the end of her story (which sometimes can go on for a while) I would give her the “F” count.   She’d look at me and say… “F-ing Oscar”.  It became a joke.  In my open and understanding nature, I decided to try using it in a controllable forum.  Text.   So we agreed to do this. I let her start.  She sent, ” Hi F**cker!”  , I replied, “Yo $#it hat!”, and we went on from there.  Whats even funnier is having the phone speak your texts.  If you have a phone that will speak your texts, try it. Its hilarious.  Now I did that exercise and it was funny, but I still prefer not to use those words. 

We still don’t allow folks shouting obscenities here at the Tavern.   Did you know that there is a town in New Jersey that outlawed swearing?  Yes, Raritan, NJ.  The mayor owns a bar and he got tired of hearing it.

Boy I got on a rant didn’t I.  Must have been spawned by Mrs. 4444.   Almost forgot todays special!

I just asked our lovely Charlene and she says BLT’s with homemade potato chips and cole slaw!   That sounds good to me!   Michelob Ultra is our beer special today.  They now have fruit “infused” beers. I tried one of them and didn’t care for it, but maybe you will! I understand its for a limited time.  The younger drinkers that come in here like them.  Not so much the fossils like me.  LOL

 

A few days after Christmas, A mother was working  in the kitchen listening to her son playing with his new electric train set in the living room. She heard the train stop and her son yell “All you sons of bitches who want to get off, get the hell off now, because this is the last stop! All of you sons of bitches that are getting on, get your asses in the train cause were leaving”. The mother went in and told her son, “we don`t use that kind of language in this house.” Now I want you to go into your room for two hours. When you come out, you can play with your train, but I don`t want to hear any bad language.
Two hours later, the son comes out of his room and continues playing with his train. Soon the train stopped and the mother heard the son say, “All passengers who are disembarking the train, please remember to take all of your belongings with you. We thank you for riding with us today and hope your ride was a pleasant one. We hope you will ride with us again soon. For those of you who are just boarding the train, we ask that you stow all of your hand luggage under the seat, remember there is no smoking except on the club car. We hope you have a pleasant and relaxing journey with us today”.
“For those of you who are pissed off with the two hour delay, please see the bitch in the kitchen.”

So…  Charlene and I are toying with the idea of blowing off an afternoon from work and heading out to the Bar on the boardwalk. Get an early start of a nights drinkin… (not today)

I just derailed….  I had another thing to mention but it must have boarded the afore mentioned train.

Oh well, as The Girl and Betty would say…..   F- it.

Enjoy Hump day.  

Ciao!

~ by Oscar on August 19, 2009.

6 Responses to “Wednesday F-ing Schmednesday”

  1. BLT sounds good. The lime beer is okay, but not when you are actually thirsty for a beer. I’ll stick to Coors.

  2. I like the idea of ditching everything for fun! DO IT!

  3. It was f’ing fantastic hanging with you ! Thanks for the ultra on special today I’m really f’ing thirsty. Oh I when I watched the bar it was required that all men and ladies speak and act accordingly ! When are you coming to Philly so I can take you out ?????

  4. Oh P.S. Fruity Beer – oh…some brewers are turning in their graves…that’s for sure

  5. Fruity beers? Not for me. I’m such an old stick in the mud, I like my Miller Lite. I’ll take that with the BLT and homemade chips.
    As for f’ing and other swear words, when the girls were born I promised myself not to fling them around. I usually used/use them when I’m angry, but not in everyday conversation. I haven’t been perfect, so when I heard the youngest drop the f bomb (she didn’t know I was in hearing distance) I felt embarrassed and sad. I told her I heard her and while I didn’t have a leg to stand on, I told her it just cheapens her in front of others when she uses those words.
    It was a weird Wednesday. I watched my daughter finish her packing for college at 3 a.m. and then watched her friend and her friend’s mom help her stow it in the van they rented at 3 p.m. In a few short hours, 4 a.m. Thursday, I will watch her drive away with them. We took her to dinner Wednesday night and she chowed down on her favorite pizza and dessert. She and her sister laughed with each other most of the dinner.
    You know, now that I’m thinking about it, I really need that Miller Lite or six. I’ll get a designated driver.

  6. People at work think it’s funny when I swear, because generally, I don’t. I just don’t want to get too comfy with it and then slip up in the wrong company. It doesn’t bother me if other people swear though. To each their own.

Leave a Reply

 
