Corn Hoe

 

 

Welcome to Oscar’s Tavern. 

 I’m benchmarking in the Louisville area today and tomorrow.  Big Bourbon country here. I’m round the corner from the home of Jim Beam, Knob Creek and Makers Mark Bourbon.

Charlene tells me we have Italian Hot Dog’s for our special today.  And of course we are highlighting Bourbon’s. But we also have Draft Coors Lite for a buck.

Belinda is with me this trip.  We went to lunch with some local folk here and enjoyed very much thier hospitality.  We went to a simple place called the Country Kitchen.  Great food! 

We chatted about stuff and talked about the past weekend. One of our group spoke about enjoying themselves at a picnic and having a “Corn Hoe” contest.

Belinda and I almost spit out our Sweet Tea after hearing this from the country accented gentleman.  The rest of the table just got quiet and there were some giggles.

“What?”  Belinda asked?  (I’m in hysterics)

“Corn Hoe”

Still confused, and blaming his accent for what we thought he was saying, he responded.

“yeah, you stand back and throw the bag in a hole”.    Well our twisted ears made this worse.

He further explains. “Well you have two wooden angled boxes, you place them ’bout 30 feet apart and take turns tossing the bean bag into the hole for points” 

OOOOOOOOOOOOHHHHHHHHHHHHH

Bean bag toss!!!

“yeah, I guess. Here we call it Corn Hoe”

gaahsmiley

 

 

Well let me go.  We fly out of here at 4:50.

Ciao!

~ by Oscar on July 8, 2009.

8 Responses to “Corn Hoe”

  1. Damn throwing Hoes sounding like so much more fun. I hate Jim
    Beam, he and I don’t get along at all. Have a safe trip.

  2. Did you get your PB&J?

  3. I’m laughing hysterically over here! Corn Hoe! Can’t wait to tell my BIL, who plays bean bag toss regularly with his kids and grandkids. And that stuff you have pictured at the top of the post? Ummmmmm. No. My stomach is already protesting and I just looked at the darn photos. Give me a Miller Lite anyday. Coors Light isn’t too shabby either. Have a safe trip back.

  4. $1 drafts, that’ll keep me coming back. I have heard that game called corn hole here in the midwest. I’ve always just called it bags or bean bags.

  5. I just bought one of those games. I think the box actually said, “Corn Hole Toss.” It IS a weird name. Why don’t they just call it bean bag toss?

  6. We call it Corn Hole. Because throwing Hoe’s is just wrong.

  7. I would love to do the rounds in Louisville. Heard that the best to be sampled there…

  8. I still ROFL when I think about the “Corn Hoe” story! What a great trip that was! You are a great travel partner!

Leave a Reply

 
