What? No Champaigne?

bottomsup

Welcome to Oscar’s Tavern!  

I’m in Puerto Rico this week. Flew down yesterday. Eddie and I – A “business” trip.

Charlene tells me that today’s special is BLT with Fries!  MMmm that sounds good!   Lets wash that down with Medalla, a Puerto Rican Beer. Its good, its light and has a good taste.

 

Eddie and I flew down here yesterday.  We sat in first class.  We have this game which we see who you get stuck with in the seat next to you.  Well with this flight I won the game.

As I got onto the plane, a very pretty 4F was being asked for her pre-flight drink. She asked for champaigne. The flight attendant replied they didn’t have any. 4F asked for sangria.  >eh<  So she opted for nothing. I sat down in 4E and got myself all situated.  I ordered a scotch.

During taxiing(sp) they ran the safety video.  I nudged her and said, “I’ve heard the reviews for this weren’t so good“.  That broke the ice and we chatted the entire 3hour 45 minute flight.  Eddie would look over every once in while and snicker.  4F was very interesting and had lot of interesting things to say. She spoke of how her husband was home with his mother as she was ill, and he was supposed to be on the trip. She decided to stay at her mom’s outside of San Juan.

Well the lunch time came, and the flight attendant gave us a choice of salmon and shrimp, or salmon and shrimp.  Yes, thats what happens when you sit in the back section of first class.  (poor us  LOL)   Well after some thought be both decided to have the salmon and shrimp.  Meanwhile we had some red wine and chatted more.  Our meals came. The flight attendant brought her salmon and shrimp, then came back and looked at me with a puzzled look. “um sir we are out of Salmon and Shrimp”.  4F sweetly suggested we share her meal.  The flight attendant said, “we do have a beef meal”.  I said to her and 4F, “Hmmm, beer or beef…um I’ll take the beef.  We all laughed.

A few wines later and some nice conversation, we landed in San Juan.   Thanks 4F for your kind company!

From a Southwest Airlines employee: “There may be 50 ways to leave your lover, but there are only 4 ways out of this aircraft…”

Pilot says: “Folks, we have reached our cruising altitude now, so I am going to switch the seat belt sign off. Feel free to move about as you wish, but please stay inside the plane till we land…it’s a bit cold outside, and if you walk on the wings it affects the flight pattern.”

After landing: “Thank you for flying Delta Business Express. We hope you enjoyed giving us the business as much as we enjoyed taking you for a ride.

As the plane landed and was coming to a stop at Washington National, a lone voice comes over the loudspeaker: “Whoa, big fella. WHOA!”

Feel better Jake.

Well let me get back to Eddie. He’s waiting on me.

Have a great day!

Ciao!

~ by Oscar on June 3, 2009.

6 Responses to “What? No Champaigne?”

  1. Enjoy P.R. Wish I were there. And thanks for the get well wishes for Jake!

  2. yum I just ate a blt so I will just imagine I was at the tavern 🙂

    Sounds like a better flight than some. Hope you have a great trip.

  3. It’s always nice to meet an interesting person on a plane, very rarely happens. Enjoy your time there.

  4. Sounds like a great plane ride, which is relatively unheard of. Just ate dinner, but the blt looks better. But, I think I’d have a light beer . . . no surprise there. Have a great time in Puerto Rico! BTW, I laughed at the airline humor!

  5. Lol. I’m glad you enjoyed your flight despite the choices in food or rather the lack of choices 🙂

    I feel a bit sorry for Eddie though.

  6. I am sooooo jealous you are in PR right now!

Leave a Reply

 
