Dead Flowers

Welcome to Oscar’s Tavern!

It’s a Thirsty Thursday.  Is that like Tasty Tuesday?

Its a nice day here in the NorthEast.   mid 80’s, sunny, light breeze.  I love it! Now this is Oscar weaather. Business is good today, a little extra from the workforce still satisfying Spring Fever.  Tuna and Shrimp Salad Wraps are todays special.  Draft beers are $2.00.  Come on in and enjoy yourself.

I s’pose you wonder why this post is called “dead flowers”. I did have the Stones song in my head. But it made me think of something else. I was going to write about long weekends and realized it is Memorial Day on Monday.  Well with Willy being a vet, and personally knowing a few. I thought of talking about that instead.  We all know Memorial Day is the day we remember our fallen heroes who fought for our freedom and help us maintain our lifestyle.  It’s all relative. I may have it better than a poor family in the Blue ridge Mountains. Well they do have a nicer view.  All in all this is the best place to live, and we owe it to these men and women.

Dead Flowers just hit me. Fresh flowers are usually placed on graves or given in rememberance. They are beautiful, full of color and hope. After a while they will wilt and die, bowing thier heads to the ground.  I ‘m thinking thats what we do.  We will celebrate Memorial Day. Many people look at it as the beginning of Summer. Here the boardwalks at the beach start the summer off full time.  A lot of us have picnics, maybe visit the grave of a relative who died in service, or like my dad, didn’t die in service but was stationed in Europe during the Korean Conflict (war) . And thats great we acknowledge.

Actually I’ll bet a lot of people look at it as a day off, don’t even fly the flag.

Then Tuesday we forget about it.  Until next year. And we should hang our heads down. Like the flowers.

 

 

 

 

I can’t find a link to the Stones “dead Flower’s” song so I’ll share the lyrics. Has nothing to do with today’s thought, but I like it anyway.

When you’re sitting there
In your silk, upholstered chair,
Talkin’ to some rich folks that you know.
And you won’t see me,
In my ragged company.
And you know I could never be alone.

Take me down, little Suzy, take me down.
I know you think you’re the Queen of the underground.
And you can
Send me dead flowers in the morning.
Send me dead flowers by the mail.
Send me dead flowers to my wedding.
And I won’t forget to put roses on your grave.

When you’re sittin’ back in your rose-pink cadillac,
Makin’ bets on Kentucky Derby Day.
And I’ll be in my basement room,
With a needle and a spoon
And another girl to take my pains away.

Take me down, little Suzy, won’t you take me down.
I know you think you’re the Queen of the underground.
And you can
Send me dead flowers every morning.
Send me dead flowers by the mail.
Send me dead flowers to my wedding.
And I won’t forget to put roses on your grave.

(instrumental break, courtesy Mick Taylor)

Take me down, little Suzy, won’t you take me down.
I know you think you’re the Queen of the underground.
And you can
Send me dead flowers every morning.
Send me dead flowers by the US mail.
Say it with dead flowers to my wedding.
And I won’t forget to put roses on your grave.

I like Miranda Lamberts “Dead Flowers” song too. She’s a lot better lookin than Mick Jagger .  LOL

No jokes today.   Enjoy the weekend!  We’ll be back on Tuesday.

   

Ciao!

 

More dead flowers

~ by Oscar on May 21, 2009.

7 Responses to “Dead Flowers”

  1. awww…it is one of those Holiday’s people treat with less respect than they ought. The flag is practically always flying at my house!!! Have a great long weekend!

  2. Great post Oscar ! I remember our Vets all the time, not just on Memorial Day or Veterans Day. I’ll say it here, Thanks for your service, I live in a better place because of your devotion to your country. God Bless all of our service men past and present.

  3. Memorial Day is always treated like the first day of summer. Usually folks are glad to have the day off and fire up the grill. Memorial Day is so much more than that. I’m as guilty as the next in not remember what Memorial Day really is about. Thanks for the nudge. Have a wonderful weekend.

  4. Enjoy the long weekend and will be joining you in honoring all those who serve and all those who gave of themselves so that my children may live in freedom.

  5. Thanks for remembering the reason for the holiday. Say hi to your veteran friends from me. Tell them I appreciate all that they have done for us….

  6. Oscar, this was such a well written and powerful post that REALLY got me to thinking. Thank you for that. 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
