Meet Ed Begley

 

bottomsup

Welcome to Oscar’s Tavern!

How are you today?  Its the first day of Spring!  I woke up to a snow flurry!  I shouted to God to wake the guy up at the switch!  It was brief, but still not appropriate for Spring weather.  Has the economy affectef things up there too? 

Well Charlene has a fine dish on the menu today – Tortellini with Alfredo and Brocolli Sauce – She says “no meat today”.  But hey, that sounds real tasty!  We’re gonna wash that down with a nice red wine.  Yellow Tail Merlot.  Try some!

On my way in here I pass a few billboards. There is one for a local Environmental exhibition that wil be happening soon.  Across the top it says,”Meet Ed Begley”.  Then below it gives details of the exhibition and other stuff. So I ‘m saying to myself, “What would I say to Ed Begley?” I can’t name anything he’s been in. I know I have seen him on show and recognize him.  What do you say? So I’m figuring that wouldn’t lure me to the event.  Further down the same road, “Meet Darryl Hannah”  Now again, I have seen her in shows but can only name one movie she stood out in.  That mermaid movie with Tom Hanks, AND I can only remember the part where she is standing near the Statue of Liberty nude. (Hey, I’m a guy).  So all I could think of to say to her is, “Nice @$$!” So unless she’s showing, again not a lure for me to attend. 

But there may be something environmentally interesting that would make me want to go. I’m sure Wendy would be interested. I’ll have to see.  Perhaps I’ll peek at Ms Hannah.

 

Do mermaids use knives and forks when they eat?
No, they use their fish fingers!
What did the sea say to the Little Mermaid?
Nothing, it just waved!
What has beautiful hair, a pretty face, two arms, a fish’s tail, looks like a mermaid, but isn’t a mermaid?
A photograph of a mermaid!
What is a mermaid’s favourite song?
Salmon-chanted Evening!
What names do mermaids have?
How about Water-Lily? Or Coral?
Maybe Michelle, as that can be shortened to Shell!
Which part of a mermaid weighs the most?
The scales!
Why did the Little Mermaid look the other way?
Because the seaweed.
Why did the Little Mermaid ride a sea-horse?
Because she was playing water polo!
Why was the Little Mermaid embarrassed?
Because she saw the big ship’s bottom!

Sheesh!

Boy it took some time and Tylenol to get past St. Patty’s day. But we be back!  LOL

Hey – Have a great weekend.

I have a bar tending gig in Puerto Rico next week so between the gang and myself, we’ll try to keep you informed on the comings and goings around here!

Ciao!

 

 

 

~ by Oscar on March 20, 2009.

4 Responses to “Meet Ed Begley”

  1. I woke up to snow on the ground too! Color me UNhappy! It’s all gone already though.

    Ed Begley… I remember him being in dozens of movies but can’t name a single one. Didn’t he get his start in St. Elsewhere? I should google that. Also haven’t seen Darryl Hannah in anything in ages. The movie you’re thinking of is Splash. That was a fun movie.

    Enjoy Puerto Rico and catch some rays for me.

  2. Wendy lives for Ed Begley, Jr. She’ll keep me up to all hours watching his show on cable. And that picture of Wendy in your post is sensational…but where the hell did you get it?? Wait…never mind…that’s Darryl Hannah.

  3. Oscar,
    To be mentioned and linked in your post… I’m speechless… and honored!

    Have fun in Puerto Rico. Can’t wait to hear all about it!

  4. I could NOT believe it was SNOWING on the 1st day of SPRING!

Leave a Reply

 
