Erin Go Bragh-Less

Welcome to Oscar’s Tavern!

Well me lads and lassie’s, tis a fine day we have here at Oscar’s.  As I am part Irish, I celebrate that side on this good day!  Look at Erin!  Ok, she’s not erin. She’s Paris. But ya gotta love Paris. But it fit my silly expression; “Erin Go Bragh-less”   Saints preserve us!  It’s been suggested we have an “Erin go bragh-less Contest” here. But this is a classy joint.  (yeah right)  Perhaps we can convince Robin to show us her shamrocks.   LOL

And of course  today Charlene O’ Sweetie has Corned beef and cabbage on the plate for us!  Served up with carrots and onions and this tasty mustard.  AND bless ‘er lil heart, Shepherds Pie!  She’s givin us a real treat!  She’s a sweet lass!  It’s one of me favorite dishes it is!

And we are having specials on all Guinness drinks! 

                                     

It’s real busy here today! We dress the place up for St. Patrick’s day.  Everyone becomes Irish for the day.  Even Willy, who is old school Italian says he’s wearing his green undies.  Later today after he’s done he’ll stay for a few. Eventually offer to show his greenies to some unsuspecting young lady. Happens every year.  Mrs. Willy comes in around 8:00pm to collect him.  The whole crew is here today. Lisa is all green. She actually IS 100% Irish.  So she’s the St. Patty’s Day Queen!   Vinnie and Sally are helping out in the kitchen. Willy, Leo and I are at the bar.   We’ve tied up the jukebox to play only Irish songs.  We are really getting into it.

st patrick’s day party

 

 

These ladies are havin’ a good time!  Can you pick out Lisa?

 

 

 

 

 

 

Two Irishmen, Patrick Murphy and Shawn O’Brian grew up together and were lifelong friends. But alas, Patrick developed cancer, and was dying. While on his deathbed, Patrick called to his buddy, Shawn, “O’Brian, come ‘ere. I ‘ave a request for ye.” Shawn walked to his friend’s bedside and kneels.”Shawny ole boy, we’ve been friends all our lives, and now I’m leaving ‘ere. I ‘ave one last request fir ye to do.”O’Brian burst into tears, “Anything Patrick, anything ye wish. It’s done.””Well, under me bed is a box containing a bottle of the finest whiskey in all of Ireland.  Bottled the year I was born it was. After I die, and they plant me in the ground, I want you to pour that fine whiskey over me grave so it might soak into me bones and I’ll be able to enjoy it for all eternity.”O’Brian was overcome by the beauty and in the true Irish spirit of his friend’s request, he asked, “Aye, tis a fine thing you ask of me, and I will pour the whiskey. But, might I strain it through me kidneys first?” 

Three guys, one Irish, one English, and one Scottish, are out walking along the beach together one day. They come across a lantern and a Genie pops out of it. “I will give you each one wish, that’s three wishes in total”, says the Genie.
The Scottish guy says, “I am a fisherman, my Dad’s a fisherman, his Dad was a fisherman and my son will be one too. I want all the oceans full of fish for all eternity.” So, with a blink of the Genie’s eye FOOM! the oceans were teaming with fish.
The Englishman was amazed, so he said, “I want a wall around England, protecting her, so that no one will get in for all eternity.” Again, with a blink of the Genie’s eye POOF! there was a huge wall around England.
The Irishman asks, “I’m very curious. Please tell me more about this wall.” The Genie explains, “well, it’s about 150 feet high, 50 feet thick, protecting England so that nothing can get in or out.” 
The Irishman says, “Fill it up with water.”
 
 
 
 
 
 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 Well, let me get a goin’ – The place is fillin’ up with folks.

OOhh look here comes Robin… 🙂

 

Have a great day –

Lisa says:

Mora na maidine dhuit.

Top of the morning to you.
More-uh nah mod-gin-uh g-wit.
Agus cuid eile an lae dhuit fein.
And the rest of the day to yourself.
Ah-gus quid ella on law g-wit feign
 
 
 

 

 
 
Dia dhuit.

 God be with you.

 Gee-uh g-wit

Ciao!

Jeannie says ” She’s goin’ bak to the old sod to have her bastard child, E’s going to grow up lord of the dance!    He won’t be a wee thing anymore if you know what I mean!”

~ by Oscar on March 17, 2009.

8 Responses to “Erin Go Bragh-Less”

  1. the food looks delicious — and that’s not all. For a good laugh on SP day, check out http://davisw.wordpress.com/2009/03/16/lives-of-the-dead-st-patrick/

  2. Oh Oscar, you devil…..For you Anything !!! Let me run home and get my pasties.

  3. Hey now, don’t forget to kiss the Italian girls too!

  4. XXXXXOOOOO Courtney !

  5. I’m going to guess Lisa is the non-blonde. Am I right? Am I? Huh? Huh?

    I must be the equivalent of an Irish Scrooge. I didn’t wear green, am not celebrating and it doesn’t bother me one bit.

  6. Loved the Irish pilates!

  7. I saw your link from teri’s blog and I must say she’s right! Reading your post is quite entertaining, like following a series on tv!

  8. Lisa is the 3rd from the left! Nice try Terri!

Leave a Reply

 
