Friday the 13th – YES!

  symbolic meaning of number thirteen

               Welcome to Oscar’s Tavern!

How are you today?  Come on in. Sit down.

Todays specials are Tuna Salad Club Sandwiches and our usual bar pies.  We’ll wash them down with Weaselmomma’s favorite beer, Coors light. 

Well Friday’s are usually good. Today is great!  Traditionally for me, Friday the 13th has been a good day.  I don’t know the origins of the evils of Friday the 13th and don’t really care. I remember as a kid walking into school with an open umbrella, broken mirror pieces and a black cat. Yes I was quickly ushered out and sent to the principal. No animals allowed in school.  To me it’s all a bunch of silly crap.  Like the number 13.  If I’m in a hotel on the 14th floor, DUH, I know I’m on the 13th.  If 13 is bad, why do people get excited when they get a “bakers dozen”?  Oh, we forget about the bad luck because its food! See?   I guess I’m just not supersticious. 

A man bought a new Mercedes to celebrate his wife leaving him and was out on the interstate for a nice evening drive.

The top was down, the breeze was blowing through what was left of his hair and he decided to open her up. As the needle jumped up to 80 mph, he suddenly saw flashing red and blue lights behind him.

“There’s no way they can catch a Mercedes,” he thought to himself and opened her up further. The needle hit 90, 100…..Then the reality of the situation hit him. “What am I doing?” he thought and pulled over.

The cop came up to him, took his license without a word and examined it and the car.

“It’s been a long hard day, this is the end of my shift and it’s Friday the 13th. I don’t feel like more paperwork, I don’t need the frustration or the overtime, so if you can give me a really good excuse for your driving that I haven’t heard before, you can go.”

The guy thinks about it for a second and says, “Last week my nagging wife ran off with a cop. I was afraid you were trying to give her back!”

“Have a nice weekend,” said the officer.

Courtney was in for a drink the other day. She’s a cutie. We were chatting about stuff. She mentioned she had a date on Wednesday. I said to her, “oh thats nice, have you met him before”

“no”

“oh that should be interesting”

“yes he seems nice”Photobucket

“well if he doesn’t show up, you come right here!”

“if he doesn’t show, I’ll go get sushi and pick out new shoes
  :)”

I laughed like hell.  There’s a girl who has her priorities straight! She’s something else. Click on her picture to see her Blog!

For those who have not seen, We were “Blogged by Terri”  Check it out!

Well go break mirrors, step on cracks and take a spin around the track with Johnny Rutherford.

I’m buying a lottery ticket!

Ciao

 

 

OMG

~ by Oscar on March 13, 2009.

7 Responses to “Friday the 13th – YES!”

  1. Ahhh there’s my girl. Someday me and Courtney are gonna get together buy some great expensive shoes and tear up the town. Loved the car joke, too priceless !!! Have a great weekend Oscar !

  2. The 13th is my daughter’s favorite number. She was born on May 13th. Many of her softball and volleyball jerseys have proudly displayed #13. So I consider it a good number too.

    Great joke!

    Courtney has beautiful eyes. Hope your date goes well, Courtney!

  3. Happy Friday the 13th. I would love a really big glass of some Frey Vineyards organic wine. They have a lovely Pinot Noir. Do you carry it?

    Hope Courtney’s date is fun.

    Have a wonderful weekend… don’t work too hard!

  4. Ugh! I still can’t have a Coors. I’ll stick with Bacardi and coke w/lime. Keep the Tuna, but can Charlene throw together a pepper and egg sandwich?

  5. Loved the joke 🙂 And why doesn’t it surprise me that you did that in school?! I visited your friend…she’s sweet.

  6. Not. A. Good. Day.

  7. […] CourtneyRyan CopyRight 2005-2009 Hey! If you want to use something I’ve written, just ask. I’ll say yes if you’re not going to make money off it. If you are gong to make money off it, I want a cut. If I find out you’re not doing this, my cousins Mario and Vinny are going to come “make it right”. I don’t know what they do to “make it right” but it seems to work and they seem to enjoy it a little too much… Just sayin’. Don’t be a jerk. Last week’s date… March 17, 2009, 7:39 pm Filed under: because i said so!, crazy, feelin’ a little sassy, fun, life, on-line dating, thank you I’ve had a few emails regarding last weeks date  with NotTragicGuy so I thought I’d fill you in.  He did show up so I didn’t have to go to my back up plan of sushi and shoes. […]

Leave a Reply

 
