Nice Ash!

bottomsup

Welcome to Oscar’s Tavern!

How are you today? Come on in and grab a stool. (what am I a proctologyst now) Sit down!

Well today’s Specials are Grilled fish sandwiches with cheese, or Grilled Cheese Sandwiches!  A nice choice given by our lovely Charlene, who never disappoints!  We’ll compliment that with Columbia Crest wines. Your choice.

Yes it’s Ash Wednesday…   Follows Fat Tuesday, so these 2 days are for FAT ASHES?  We can tell who our good christian patrons are today. They come in showing us thier ash.  We have a sign today that reads, “Free drink if you show us your ash!”  Oh and yes, we get some silly folk who lisp and drop trough. LOL  In all seriousness, we admire those who practice thier faith. 

Now for a lot of people this starts Lent.   I’m wondering what I should give up. How about you? You giving up anything?         I think I may sacrifice Chocolate.

This couple met in the early days of the Mardi Gras celebration in New Orleans. They feel in love and got married, and every night they partied, drank and went home to let Nature take its course.

One night, nothing happened. She wondered why he had cooled off, so she tried a ploy: She left the window open.

“Honey, would you close the window. I’m cold,” she said.

He crawled over her to close the window and then went back to his side of the bed.

She said, “What’s the matter?”

He said, “It’s Lent.”

She said, “Well, who’d you lend it to and when are you going to get it back?”

Well there you have it.  Hope you all survived Fat Tuesday. To be honest, I would have forgotten about it if Charlene didn’t tell me.  I should have had beads at the Tavern…..  A Mardi Gras night.  Oh well. Then again this is a respectable joint.

Hmm I googled Mardi gras beads and can’t find an image suitable for our PG blog.  LOL

Maybe we’ll go to New Orleans next year….

Hey Charlene! Get any beads yesterday?   ( I’m getting this “smart ash” look)

Ciao

~ by Oscar on February 25, 2009.

5 Responses to “Nice Ash!”

  1. “I’m getting the smart ash look” LMAO

    I’m coming in with my dirt on my head, I’ll have an Ultra please.

  2. Your lenten sacrifice is supposed to actually be… you know… sacrificial. You giving up chocolate is like me giving up green beans.

    On second thought… GREAT idea!

  3. Well, since you asked, I’ve given up beer for lent. Ahhhh, Gasp! So I’ll have a small(water) glass of that wine.

    • Weaselmomma… NO!!!!! Beer? Wow ! That IS a sacrifice!!!
      Terri – Heh heh heh…Hmmm someone pays attention to my blogs…
      Willy! and Ultra for the MOM MOM…

  4. that joke! SO GOOD!!!

Leave a Reply

 
