Open Bar None

Welcome to Oscar’s Tavern!

Hi!  C’mon in!  Pull up a stool!  Well it seems like things are back to normal here at the tavern. We are back to our full staff, which means our lovely, tanned, adorable Charlene is back. (She’ll give me that look when she reads this)  We all love her here. She’s kinda like the boss sometimes. So you know what that means!!!!!!!

YES, she’s in the kitchen! And she has her favorite Cuban Sandwiches today!  Awesome!!!   Boy we missed her!  Being that we’re back to normal, lets wash it down with a cool tall one! How about the King of Beers! Now there’s a tasty combo!  Welcome Back Sunshine!!

 What can I get you???

I was having drinks with Eddie and Buddy before Christmas at a place called the Green Knoll Grille.  I have been there many times before and this was just a Merry Christmas drink with them.  Well a waitress/barmaid that tended to us was1219081430 a short older woman, who was very upbeat. Said her name was “Shorty”.  She was fun to talk to.  We talked about drinking, favorite drinks, and stuff in general. I pulled my old “my glass had a hole in it” routine, and she followed through. What amazed us was she said she was 82 years old. God Bless her.  This place has its share of cute waitresses and barmaids. In the summer they wear tee tops that say GK Girls. (My buddy G says its because thay all belong to him!  LOL)  And they wear shorter shorts. Shorty joins in.  Here’s to you my dear lady!

              

cheerssmiley

          A toast to Shorty from Oscar and his buddies!

 

New Year Resolutions for Pets

 15. I will not eat other animals’ poop.

14. I will not lick my human’s face after eating animal poop.

13. I do not need to suddenly stand straight up when I’m lying under the coffee table. 

12. My head does not belong in the refrigerator.

11. I will no longer be beholden to the sound of the can opener.

10. Cats: Circulate a petition that sleeping become a juried competition in major animal shows.

 9. Come to understand that cats are from Venus; dogs are from Mars.

8. Take time from busy schedule to stop and smell the behinds.

7. Hamster: Don’t let them figure out I’m just a rat on steroids, or they’ll flush me!

 6. Get a bite in on that freak who gives me that shot every year.

5. Grow opposable thumb; break into pantry; decide for MYSELF how much food is *too* much.

4. Cats: Use new living room sofa as scratching post.

 3. January 1st: Kill the sock! Must kill the sock!
January 2nd – December 31: Re-live victory over the sock.

2. The garbage collector is NOT stealing our stuff.

AND the Number 1 New Year’s Resolutions Made by Pets…

1. I will NOT chase the stick until I see it LEAVE THE IDIOT’S HAND

I was challenged to fulfill a “meme” by Weaselmomma.  At first I thought she wanted me to do a stupid human trick, but read it again and realized I was safe with a 4th photo.100_9524  It’s from the Cove City Sound Studio’s in Long Island, NY.  My daughter (far left) was recording a demo song for distribution. It was a great time, me the amature musician and writer. We were very lucky to have the staff we did. Left to right – My daughter,  John Montagna – Bass player for the Alan Parsons project, Ritchie Canatta – Billy Joel’s sax player, studio drummer – steve (blond) Eren Canatta – Ritchie’s son who has his own CD,  and Al Jardine Jr. Son of the Famed beach boy.  Cost me a ton, but it came out pretty good.

This is more CS content but I’m too lazy to cut and paste now.

Well I spent too much time from the bar.

Gotta get back!

Hi Cupcake!

Ciao

 

 

~ by Oscar on December 30, 2008.

4 Responses to “Open Bar None”

  1. To you Shorty !!!!!! Damn I hope I’m like her in my 80s.

  2. What a fun post all the way around! Happy New Year.

  3. Some pretty famous names involved in that recording session. Cool!

  4. Shorty looks completely charming! I’d request her table any day.

    And tell your daughter not to give up her dreams — she has a lot of talent (as does her dad!)

Leave a Reply

 
