Post Turkey Monday

bottomsup  

Welcome to Oscar’s Tavern!  How are you today? Tired?  Yeah, I think a lot of us are. Especially after a holiday weekend like this past.  Well our lovely Charlene is keeping the Holiday theme alive with Hot Turkey Sandwiches with french fries and gravy!  I can smell it warming. MMMmm, I’m gonna have some!  And wash it down with todays drink, Guinness, on draft of course!

What can I get you?

Yeah, so Thanksgiving is past. But you can still taste it. I was talking to Charlene earlier and we said its funny we don’t eat Turkey like that more often. But agreed it wouldn’t be as special.  We enjoy the leftovers.  So now it’s officially the holiday season!  Are you ready?

Ok, so you who have been following this blog know that I “appreciate” womans shoes.  I’m not sure how this happened, but I think it all started with Almalee.  She was the shoe fashion queen. So each day I’d look to see what she was wearing and I’d comment. I guess this made me aware of noticing womens shoes. – No, I’m not fruity –    Well our dear friend Doxie keeps in touch with us from Dallas. She always shares what happens down there with us and submitted the following “family” Thanksgiving photos:

dsc00685

dsc00694

dsc00692dsc00693dsc00683

Ah, the togetherness of a family at the dinner table celebrating thanks….

I think I have a pair of New Balance similar to those!

When I do these posts, I use Google images and grab whatever I think is good. So while searching for a glass of Guinness I saw a scantilly clad woman holding a glass. So one thing led to another and I found this.bikini-clad-women-set-guiness-record-photo-3

Click on the picture to find out what this was all about.  Pretty interesting!

Every night after dinner, Merle took off for the local watering hole. He would spend the whole evening there and always arrive home, quite inebriated, around midnight each night.

He usually had trouble getting his key to fit the keyhole and couldnt get the door open. And every time this happened, his wife would go to the door and let him in. Then she would proceed to yell and scream at him, for his constant nights out and always coming home in a drunken state. But Merle just continued his nightly routine.

One day, the wife was talking to a friend about her husbands behavior and was particularly distraught by it all.

The friend listened and said, “Why dont you treat him a little differently when he comes home? Instead of berating him, why dont you give him some loving words and welcome him home with a kiss? Then he might change his ways.”

The wife thought that this might be a good idea.

That night, Merle took off again after dinner. And at about midnight, he arrived home in his usual condition.

His wife heard him at the door. She quickly opened it and let Merle in.

Instead of berating him as she had always done, this time she took his arm and led him into the living room. She sat Merle down in an easy chair, put his feet up on the ottoman and took his shoes off. Then she went behind him and started to cuddle him a little. After a little while, she said to Merle, “Its pretty late, dear. I think we had better go upstairs to bed now, dont you think?”

At that, in his inebriated state he replied, “I guess we might as well. I”ll get in trouble when I get home anyway!”

Busy place today. Guess a lot of folk are back at work and need that hour of re-assurance. Well let me getback to work!

Ciao!

~ by Oscar on December 1, 2008.

3 Responses to “Post Turkey Monday”

  1. I love shoes…and photos of shoes. But who was wearing flip flops? Wasn’t it freezing on Thanksgiving?

  2. Let’s not forget they’re from Dallas! A bit warmer there! – O

  3. you must watch that shoe fetish, they get out of control quick! lol

Leave a Reply

 
