What the Hell is “Sweetest Day”

 

Welcone to Oscar’s Tavern!  How are you today on this fine Fall day! Nice weather still. Todays specials are Miller Lite and Charlene’s got some tasty Meatloaf and mashed potatos with brown gravy cooked up for you!  MMmmmm, I’m hungry just typing this!

What can I get you?   An ice cold Lite and that yummy dish? You got it!  – One yummy dish from a yummy dish! LOL

So here we are. Fall. Lot’s of you are saying it’s nice, and I’m ok with it. Fall IS nice, but I still love Summer better. So what do we have to look forward to?  Hmmm. Cooler weather. (eh) The fall foliage (leaves changin’ for all you rednecks).  Halloween! Columbus Day, Rosh Hashanah and what’s this…”Sweetest Day” it says here on my lighthouse calendar, October 18th.  Sweetest Day is an observance celebrated primarily in the Great Lakes region and parts of the Northeast United States on the third Saturday in October. It is described by Retail Confectioners International as an “occasion which offers all of us an opportunity to remember not only the sick, aged and orphaned, but also friends, relatives and associates whose helpfulness and kindness we have enjoyed. Sweetest Day has also been referred to as a “concocted promotion created by the candy industry solely to increase sales of candy”. What do YOU think?  I just may use it as an excuse to treat somebody special, special! But lets not get crazy with it.

So I’m off to Puerto Rico for another Bar Tending Convention. Should be interesting. I understand the weather has been real bad lately.  Guess I’ll keep you posted.  Willy and Lisa will run things here till Friday when i get back. If we need to we may have Meleah guest tend if needed. she said she’d take the job.

 I’m trying hard to stay away from Politics here at Oscar’s because I don’t want political views to stop people from visiting the Tavern.  All I ask of everyone is to study your candidates yourself. Don’t go by what someone else says.

Hi  What can i get you? A Sloe Gin Fizz? Sure anything else? The meatloaf, it’s delicious!

So am I horrible if I thought this guy riding the scooter was something worth photographing? I was with my son in OBX. On our way back from the ABC Store, we saw this and I HAD to take a picture with my cell phone. Just something you don’t see everyday.

 ABC Store – In North Carolina you can only buy “booze” in these stores. Beer and wine can be bought in almost any store.

  

 A pony walks into a bar and says “Bartender, may I have a drink?”

 Bartender says “What? I can’t hear you. Speak up!”

 “May I please have a drink?”

 “What? You have to speak up!”

 “Could I please have a drink?”

 “Now listen, if you don’t speak up I will not serve you.”

 “I’m sorry, I’m just a little hoarse.”

As I type this I am sitting in seat 9A Flight 470 to San Juan at Newark Liberty airport.  I can see the New York skyline from my window.   Weather here is nice. Hopefully I won’t be stuffed into my seat by a voluminmous center seat passenger. Funny how in coach you have to “claim” the armrest.

Hi, what can I get you?  The meatloaf is fabulous! and a glass of Merlot? sure.

I have a dear friend in mind today. She’s in a bit of a sitiation. My thoughts are with her.

<O>

 

Betty – did you?  LOL

Well let me go. They’re closing the door. Talk to you from the Caribbean!

Willy – Mind my friends, they’re thirsty!   Drinks are on me and Charlene today.

Ciao

~ by Oscar on September 23, 2008.

3 Responses to “What the Hell is “Sweetest Day””

  1. NO, OSCAR, I DID NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOT!!! NOW STOP MENTIONING IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    On another note – thanks for researching the Sweetest Day as I asked you to. Now I know another useless fact! Yay!!

    If you talk about politics I will fall asleep from boredom so please dont…

  2. Hell Yes. Id love to Guest Tend!

  3. well, I’m responding late, as usual, but you mentioned fall occasions in this entry & I have to say that I think Halloween is a particularly special day . . . .

Leave a Reply

 
