More Attention Deficite Disorder

    

Welcome to Oscar’s Tavern!  How the heck are you? C’mon on in and sit down! Drink special today is White Sangria, and Charlene’s got some delicious Tuna Salad sandwiches for ya. Funny she doesn’t like Tuna, but makes a good sandwich.

What can I get you two?  2 sandwiches and two sangria’s?  Great! 

Ever wonder what the “33” on the Rolling Rock Bottle stands for?  I don’t know but this link gives some suggestions: Why 33? 

A lot of good beers come out of Pennsylvania. Rolling Rock, Yeungling, Iron City to name a few. I’m quite fond of Yeunglings, “Black and Tan”. I worked on a project once in Pennsylvania and spent some time there. My buddy Edwin and I would frequent this little place in Pottstown often to suck down cold 7oz. glasses of the tasty brew. We’d have a.. few, then have a sandwich or something. It was good. When we were in PR. together, we’d leave for lunch, drive to a liquor store, buy a six pack, and drink it on the way to lunch (not far). Have lunch by the beach (with Beer), then get two roaders each for the ride back. Throw all the cans on the side of the road while we drove back.   Now there may be some of you who may not like this course of action, BUT it was in the past, and lets look at it. (1.) Edwin and I were..seasoned. a 12 pack didn’t bother us.  (2.) We ate. (3.) The cans we threw on the side of the road would be picked up by scavengers and sold for the aluminum, thus feeding the poor.  Edwin was my beer mentor, god rest his soul. We had a lot of fun together, and I learned a lot from him. I’ll have to share more Edwin stories. This ones for you Buddy!

Now I don’t condone this and it was back when we were foolish. Drinking and driving doesn’t mix.

(M.)A.D.D.   More A.D.D.  Random stuff, thats all. I don’t want a bunch of angry mothers getting all over my case.  Have someone Google MADD and see this lowly tavern. LOL

Hi, what can I get you? A white sangria and a rolling rock? Not mixed I hope LOL – Coming right up..

Poor Betty, her trip to the Outer Banks was cut short because of Hanna. But she said she had fun, so I’m glad. Hard to determine how the weather will be sometimes. Last year I looked at the forecast for the week away and saw all thunderstorms. Got there and it was sunny every day. What’s that everyone says, if you could have a job where 100% of the time you can be 50% wrong is pretty damned good.  LOL

Mushy Time. I’m a big Pretenders fan from way back. Very under-rated. Think I’ve said so before. Well one of my favorite songs is “Lovers of Today”. Here are the words:

TRIED TO TALK TO MY BABY
I SAID NO NO NO NO BABY
PLEASE DON’T CRY
NO NO NO BABY PLEASE
‘CAUSE ALL OF THE LEAVES COME DOWN
EVERY TIME BABIES CRY
ALL OF THE LEAVES COME DOWN

I PUT MY ARMS AROUND MY BABY
I SAID HUSH HUSH HUSH HUSH
BABY SLEEP TIGHT NOW
HUSH HUSH HUSH BABY SLEEP
‘CAUSE ALL OF THE BIRDS START TO SING
EVERY TIME BABIES DREAM
ALL OF THE BIRDS START TO SING

NOBODY WANTS TO SEE
LOVERS OF TODAY HAPPY
SO ASSUMED THEY’RE GOING TO PART
NOBODY WANTS TO BE WITH SOMEONE
SO AFRAID THEY’LL BE LEFT WITH
A BROKEN HEART

I KISSED THE EYES OF MY BABY
I SAID DREAM DREAM DREAM DREAM
BABY ALL NIGHT LONG
DREAM DREAM DREAM ALL THE NIGHT
‘CAUSE ALL OF THE STARS IN THE SKIES
TWINKLE ON BABY’S EYES
ALL OF THE STARS IN THE SKIES

I TRIED TO TALK TO YOU BABY
NO NO
NO I’LL NEVER FEEL
LIKE A MAN IN A MAN’S WORLD

Nice Huh?  I used to “pretend” Chrissy Hynde was singing to me…  LOL   (sap I am)  Now they also can do some nasty kick ass Rock n’ Roll too!  Most of the real rockers don’t make standard FM radio. You should check them out. Actually they have a new CD/album out soon. They haven’t done one in like over 8 years I think.

 

The Beer Prayer

Our lager,
Which art in barrels,
Hollowed be thy drink.
I will be drunk,
At home as in the tavern.
Give us this day our foamy head,
And forgive us our spillages,
As we forgive those who spill against us.
And lead us not into incarceration,
But deliver us from hangerovers.
For thine is the beer. he bitter and The lager
Forever and ever,
Barmen.

 

 Hi what can I get you?  A Budweiser? Sure, a fine belgian beer. LOL  Comin up!

Ok.  Let me get back to the bar.

My Flower….

Fly the Flag – September 11th.

Ciao

 

 

IAC4SW

~ by Oscar on September 9, 2008.

5 Responses to “More Attention Deficite Disorder”

  1. poor betty 😦 damned hurricane hanna! i hate you!

    the edwin story and your reasons why it’s okay cracked me up. tin feeding the poor after they recycle them. oh oscar. lol!

  2. Poor Betty had to come home early. Thats awful. Yeah… I wasn’t alive back in the day when people always drank and drove like that, but yeah, better to be safe than piss off a bunch of MADD members!

  3. PS; Beer Prayer = Awesome!

  4. Betty – Yes we validated our expeditions. That actually is true. People there collect aluminum cans for $.

    Meleah – Yeah, it was a different time. Not the smartest thing to do. Thats why I added the Don’t drink and drive to the post. 🙂

  5. Good Call!

Leave a Reply

 
