Several Species of Small Furry Animals Gathered Together in a Cave and Grooving With a Pict.

   

Its a beautiful day in the neighborhood…   Oh, Hi!  Welcome to Oscar’s Tavern!  How are you? Damned hot out there isn’t it? Drink special are Buds, buck fifty each all day! And Charlene has some delicious Pork Roll and Cheese sandwiches on the grill for ya! 

What can I get you?  3 Buds and 3 sandwiches, smart folk you all are, coming right up!

Boy this Summer is flying like poop through a goose. Seems it takes so long to get here, then its over in a flash.  Well business picks up here when its over, but It’s still my favorite season.  Theres a rabbit that has been living in my front yard all summer. Yesterday I was him “reclining”. I told him if he plans to live here, I’m deducting him on my taxes. Now I don’t know where he sleeps, but he is on the lawn all day, into the evening. He had a friend over the other day. They were reclining.. funniest damned thing I ever saw. Perhaps they were waiting for me to serve them a drink by the garden. ” 2 Bloody Mary’s with celery and carrot sticks“, Charlene could make them some carrot cake.  As good a chef she is here, she’s better known for her desserts! I’m just glad they haven’t found my vegetable garden. I’ve named him… Mr. Bunny. Could be Ms. Bunny, but hey, I don’t need to know that much.  He has gotten progressively brave as I can now walk within 3 feet of him and he doesn’t move.  – No comments about the old man making a fuss over a wild rabbit in his lawn.

Been listening to a lot of music lately. Caught a live concert of Aimee Mann recently on satellite radio. She’s come a long way from “Till Tuesday – Voices Carry”.  It was pretty good. Need to explore her a bit more today. Have you heard her lately?

Being a “has-been” musician and songwriter, I hear a lot more stuff in music that the average person doesn’t. The awesome bass lines in Led Zeppelin’s “Ramble On”, or how good George Harrison’s solo really is in the Beatle song “Something”.  Would you believe my favorite Beatle song is “Oh Darling”, off of Abbey Road? I once listened to it over 30 times on a flight from Orange County one night. I sent an email to my best old friend in Colorado telling him I thought it was the best Beatle song ever recorded, so as soon as I sync’d up he’d get it. Then he tells me it was supposed to be a doo-wop song originally. LOL  Go figure, not a big fan of fifties stuff. There are some classics, but ..eh. He knows all that kind of stuff. I’ve known him since 4th grade. We were band mates for years. Members of each other’s mistakes, if you know what I mean. Will have to dig up stuff about him and share. Many years of friendship. That’s a friend.

 

Several Species of small furry animals gathered together and grooving in a cave with a pict.  

What.  That’s a song off of early Pink Floyd’s “umma Gumma” album. Where have YOU been.  LOL  It’s in the jukebox here at Oscar’s.  People are sure I was a flower child when this one plays. Along with all my other favorites. Hey, its MY place. No rap happening here. Closest we come to rap is Beasty Boys, Rage, and Crystal Methods “ Name o’ the Game”. We go from Bon Jovi to Patsy Klein. I was a child of the sixties, Beatles, Stones, Led Zeppelin, Cream and other Brittish invasion bands. Never took a liking to the Beach Boys, or Dave Clark 5.  Do like Hendrix, CSNY, Allman Brothers, Southern Rock, Bon Jovi – Springsteen…. Jersey Bands.  I like woman rockers. Cheryl Crow, Patty Griffin (yesterdays blog) They sing to me. I like to be sung to, right Betty and Belinda?  LOL  A big fan of another under rated band, the Pretenders.

 Now SSoSFAGTaGWaP is a let’s say ” different” kind of piece.

So for all you stoners – gear up and listen to this…  I’ll pour myself a stiff one and we’ll chill to this gem:     Click on CD cover photo below.

Pink Floyd - Ummagumma CD Cover Art  CD music music CDs songs album

Aye an’ a bit of Mackeral settler rack and ruin
ran it doon by the haim, ‘ma place
well I slapped me and I slapped it doon in the side
and I cried, cried, cried.The fear a fallen down taken never back the raize and then Craig Marion,
get out wi’ ye Claymore out mi pocket a’ ran doon, doon the middin stain
picking the fiery horde that was fallen around ma feet.
Never he cried, never shall it ye get me alive
ye rotten hound of the burnie crew. Well I snatched fer the blade O my
Claymore cut and thrust and I fell doon before him round his feet.
Aye! A roar he cried frae the bottom of his heart that I would nay fall
but as dead, dead as ‘a can be by his feet; de ya ken?

…and the wind cried Mary.
 
 

 

 

Just in case you wondered what they were saying in the song.   LOL.

Hey, Lisa – its your day off, what you doing here?  Oh, ok  A bud and a pork.  Who’s your friend….?

Well let me get a move on here. Have a fun day everyone – C’mon by – drinks are on me!

Almalee – Welcome back honey!!!!!

Betty – Lets do lunch!

The Taco Bell Chihuahua, a Doberman and a Bulldog are in a bar having adrink when a great-looking female Collie comes up to them and says, “Whoever can say liver and cheese in a sentence can have me.”So the Doberman says, “I love liver and cheese.” The Collie replies, “That’s not good enough.”
The Bulldog says, “I hate liver and cheese.” She says, “That’s not creative enough.”

Finally, the Chihuahua says, “Liver alone . . . cheese mine.”
 
 

 

 

That was Vinnie’s joke.

Ciao!

 

One at a time baby!

~ by Oscar on August 20, 2008.

3 Responses to “Several Species of Small Furry Animals Gathered Together in a Cave and Grooving With a Pict.”

  1. Howdy! Thanks for the Pink Floyd — takes me back. Haven’t had a chance to listen to your Blue Sky yet. Stevie Ray is singin’ at the moment, & I can’t interrupt him!

  2. Great to be back! Missed coming to the taven! Lets get together while I am free & single

  3. Betty enjoys singing to you Oscar. It’s fun and it makes you laugh. 🙂

    Is that a real picture of the bunny lounging in your yard? That’s hysterical!

    PS: I love Vinne’s joke.

Leave a Reply

 
