Mine’s Better Than Wayne’s

    

Hi, Welcome to Oscars Tavern!  Nice day isn’t it?  Todays drink special is Budweiser, The King of Beers. When I asked Charlene this morning what todays lunch special was, she said Peanut Butter and Jelly. So thats what I telling everyone.  🙂

A Bud?  Sure.

Its Friday.  An odd day already. As I put this post together, I have Google open and grab images for posting. When I googled Peanut butter and jelly, I got the picture above. Along side of it was a topless woman sitting in a kitchen sink, with peanut butter and jelly, on the counter. Now I toyed with posting that as a goof, but concidered the ladies.  Just goes to show you what kids are probably seeing these days.

When I’m not behind this bar, I enjoy music. A rusty ol’ musician I am. Guitars and Keyboards. I’ve written many songs. Some have been used by “B” bands, one was used as a commercial in Tucson, and the rest of my >100 songs are in a box in the basement.  I used to spend hours writing and recording. Life has kept me pretty busy and I havn’t done much playing lately, but I think along with finding alone time, I’ll put some time aside to start playing again. Hey maybe I can start an “Open Mic” night here at the Tavern.  I have thousands of dollars worth of equipment, 5 guitars, 3 keyboards, a piano, violin, and other recording stuff. All getting dusty in the “music room”. 

My prize possession, a PRE-CBS Fender Stratocaster!  Remember Waynes World? and the guitar he worshipped in the music store? Mine is better! I’ve had it since I was a lil’ rock and roller.  LOL  First song I played on it was “Down on the Corner” an old Creedence song.   I played in a lot of Rock and Roll bands, garage bands, even a wedding band for a bit. That was a goof. I remember at one gig we had, we were playing ” The Heart of Rock and Roll” by Huey Lewis. We didn’t have a sax player for the song’s solo, so I would jam out on the guitar a similar run. Well Steve the singer goes, OK Oscar, and I start whailing… stepped up like Chuck Berry and pulled my ampstack down on the stage.  LOL  DOH!  Yeah, it was a lot of fun. Lots of funny stories to tell about that time. Will have to share a few. Maybe even victimize you to a few tunes……

Another Bud? Coming right up!  

So this guy comes in yesterday before closing and says he wants a Blue Moon Ale.  The younger folk like them with an Orange slice in it.  So I serve it that way.  So as a joke I say “would you like a regular orange slice or the premium?”   The guy looks at me puzzled and says, “Um…  I’ll take the premium”.   So I went into the kitchen, grabbed one of Charlenes oranges, (no, she’d slap me) from the fridge. I then took this old syringe she uses for cooking and injected orange vodka into the orange.  Brought it back to the bar and cut it right in front of him.  He looked at me and said “Whats the difference?  I saud “taste it”   He took the slice and ate it. A big smile came over his face.  “Sweet”.  Thats a premium orange.  I explained what I did and he now decided to have “premium oranges” for snacks when he’s working.  LOL  Thats a good snack Idea to take where you’re not allowed to bring alcohol.

Another bud?  

Well I gotta get ready for the lunch crowd.   Have a nice weekend if I don’t get a chance to post.  I have friends from LA visiting.

MMMRRRRDOOOWWW  Thats a cat.

Jeannie wants to meet Charlene

And if you are curious about the peanut butter lady in the sink, >here<.

Here’s a blog I like to read: http://breathewithme.wordpress.com/

Ciao!

~ by Oscar on July 11, 2008.

3 Responses to “Mine’s Better Than Wayne’s”

  1. Good idea on the orange Oscar!

    You should get back into you music more! You need to do the things you love in your life. Find time for them!

    Thanks for the shout out oscar…i coulda done w/o the peanut butter naked lady. LOL

  2. Hey, YOU clicked on it! LOL

  3. Beer is the best especially in the summertime.

Leave a Reply

 
